Unable to sign in / sign up

If you receive a message “Unable to sign in” when signing up or signing into an existing account, please validate the following:

* You have downloaded our Cloud Backup South Africa specific Code42 installer from our instructions page

* You are specifying your username as an email address

* You are specifying the correct password

* The master server is specified as master.cloud-backup.co.za:4282

* You are using a valid registration key (non-distributors should use the key specified at the instructions page above.

Should you require a password reset, please log a support ticket and we will generate a new password for you. It is possible to change this via our web-based dashboard at https://master.cloud-backup.co.za:4285/console/ by clicking in the upper right-hand corner to access your profile, and then the “cog” icon to Edit your profile and specify a new password, rather than using the password reset feature.

My backup is not working under macOS Mojave

Apple introduced new privacy settings in macOS Mojave 10.14, which impacts CrashPlan’s ability to access some files from apps like Contacts, Photos, and Mail that contain personal data.

IMPACT

Due to Apple’s restrictions, these items will not be backed up until you give CrashPlan permission to access them.

If these files and folders are included in your backup sets they will no longer be backed up until you take action to change your macOS privacy settings.

ACTION NEEDED

Follow the below instructions to update your privacy settings and ensure files and folders from apps such as Contacts, Photos and Mail continue to back up on Mac devices running macOS Mojave 10.14.

INSTRUCTIONS

Step 1: Grant full disk access to the CrashPlan app

  1. Open Apple System Preferences.
  2. Open Security & Privacy.
  3. Select the Privacy tab.
  4. If privacy settings are locked:
    1. Click the lock icon in the lower-left corner.
    2. Enter your device password.
    3. Click Unlock.
  5. In the left pane, select Full Disk Access.
  6. In the right pane, click the + icon.
  7. Navigate to Applications > CrashPlan.
  8. Click Open.
    The following message appears: “CrashPlan” will not have full disk access until it is quit.
  9. Click Quit Now.
  10. (Optional) Click the lock in the lower-left corner to re-lock privacy settings.
  11. (Required) Follow the steps in the next section to restart the CrashPlan service. The CrashPlan app will not have full disk access until the CrashPlan service restarts.

Step 2: Restart the CrashPlan service

There are two ways to restart the CrashPlan service: restart your device or enter a command in the CrashPlan app command prompt. Choose whichever option is easiest for you.

Option 1

Restart your Mac.

Option 2
  1. Open the CrashPlan app.
  2. If necessary, sign in to your account.
  3. Press Option+Command+C to open the commands prompt.
  4. Enter this command:
    restart
  5. Press Enter.
    This closes the CrashPlan app, reauthenticates theCrashPlan app with the Cloud Backup Solutions authority server, and then restarts the CrashPlan service.

After installation on an unsupported device, no service is created

Should you be installing on an unsupported system such as Windows XP, we are aware that the latest version of the software will not create a CrashPlanService.

To fix this, follow these steps:

  1. Uninstall the current CrashPlan software
  2. On a 32 bit Windows XP or server-class system, install version 4.6.1
  3. For 64 bit systems, attempt to install version 4.7.1
  4. Once the installation has completed, if the service does not start, you will get “Unable to connect to the backup engine”. For Windows systems with less than 2Gb RAM, carry out the following:
    1. Navigate to C:\Program Files\CrashPlan
    2. Edit file CrashPlanService.ini
    3. Change 1024M to 512M to halve the memory usage
  5. Attempt to restart the service and then launch CrashPlan PROe

 

My backup says it is complete but I know there is data to be backed up

This can occasionally happen with a specific version of the backup client that had a bug.

Should your invoice email warn that your device has not connected to our cloud for some time, and/or you are experiencing the above, please uninstall the application and then reinstall the latest version from our instructions page.

You will not lose your existing backup data and as long as you uninstall and reinstall again straight afterwards, your backup will continue.

You will need your account username and password to log in to your existing account. Please contact support if you would like your password reset or have forgotten your username.

What should I back up?

By default, the Cloud Backup Solutions CrashPlan software will back up your home user area which will include all your most important files and folders.  You also have the ability to manually add any files or folders.

As a rule, this default selection of the current users home directory will be enough. This will typically include Documents, Pictures, Mail files and so on.

However, it should be noted that on Windows in particular, this can include video files, which can take up more space than may be necessary, so some “tuning” of the backup selection may be required.

On Windows, we do not recommend backing up the C:\Program Files\ or C:\Program Files (x86)\ directories as this usually will not result in the programs being installed successfully following a restore, unless you also back up a copy of the registry and C:\Windows directory to include components. This can result in a lot of data being backed up!

Can I back up directly from my NAS?

It depends on the manufacturer and operating system.

Generally we have seen good success in NAS devices that are able to run virtual machines. Run a CentOS Linux virtual machine, and then mount the network shares on it. Install and run the Linux Cloud Backup Solutions agent. It’s a free, effective and supported solution.

How many computers can I back up?

As per our terms and conditions that includes the Code42 Enterprise EULA, you are only permitted to include a maximum of four computers per account.

To back up more devices than this, you will be required to create a new account for each multiple of four computers.

Please contact support@cloud-backup.co.za if you  would like your accounts can be aggregated into a single invoice. We will review this request to see if it is financially viable.

How does your service differ from Dropbox?

This is a great question. The primary distinction is that we provide endpoint backup rather than file syncing and sharing. If you are looking for key differentiators, the following list summarises accurately:

  • Dropbox is primarily a sync client, for file sharing and collaboration, and is not really designed for ongoing backups even when you are logged off
  • Dropbox is based in the US, and as such is governed by a different jurisdiction, subject to the privacy questions that are being raised in the US with the NSA. This is also particularly relevant in light of the POPI (Protection of personal information) act passed in South Africa, governing that certain data cannot leave the country.
  • Backing up or recovering large sets of data to Dropbox could potentially take months, whereas our service is 100% based in South Africa and we have a 1Gb connection to the internet. We can back up and restore data as fast as your ADSL connection will allow.
  • Dropbox do not provide any quick and easy way to restore large quantities of backup to external disk for rapid recovery (and the same for backup)
  • Dropbox charge extra for versioning and delete files are subsequently removed after 30 days – we store multiple versions and deleted files indefinitely
  • Dropbox themselves have advised they will decrypt and hand over files to the US government upon request, and on their website quote “Dropbox employees are prohibited from viewing the content of files you store in your account” which we read as “prohibited, but fully capable of doing so”. We cannot view your files unless we initiate a full restore on behalf of our customers, and if a backup encryption password is used, we are completely unable to even initiate it without the password.